About me

neil u malgaonkar
3 min readJan 31, 2020

--

Prologue

I have always struggled with “Tell me something about yourself?” question. It doesn’t matter how many times I practice it in front of a mirror or with friends. I always failed to answer it, and somehow end up making things a little bit awkward for all parties involved. I am glad that those days are long gone, and nobody asks me this question anymore.

I have procrastinated about a lot of things for the past few years, and one of them is to start writing blogs. I planned to start writing at the start of 2019, and I did not do it. Fast forward to 2020, and I still haven’t started with it. On 2nd January, I was talking to my buddy Sunil Shenoy over the phone. During the call, he casually talked about a delay in writing his birthday blog, and that reminded me of my resolution from 2019, but I still didn’t lift a finger to start writing.

But on 4th January 2020, I got a WhatsApp message from Sunil, informing us that he is thinking of starting a podcast. By 5th January, he published his first recording on anchor.fm. That brings me to the present.

Present

Even though I haven’t heard Sunil’s first podcast, I admire Sunil’s dedication towards making things happen, and that has inspired me to take up the first task of 2020, i.e., starting with the blogs.

At first, I was a little lost about what should be my first article. I ponder for some time and then finally decided to write about myself. So, here we go. I hope I don’t make things awkward for the internet, as I have done in the past.

Finally, About Me

I am thirty-six years old Indian guy staying in Bombay with my Parents. By profession, I am a web site developer who makes and sometimes breaks the websites for a living. I work for a Swedish agency called Bombayworks. When I am not working, I spend a lot of time reading Quora. During weekends, I watch my favorite EPL team, Arsenal, getting their ass kicked by EPL minnows. Also, if my nephew allows, I spend some time playing Xbox.

I have traveled to a few countries in the past and hope to visit a few more. But I am not an avid traveler. Similarly, I enjoy trying out different cuisines, but I am not a foodie either.

I am Facebook free for more than one and a half years, and I am not missing any of it. I rarely use Twitter, So that’s about it. I am on Instagram, and I use it frequently. It is challenging to avoid heated political discussions on social media (including Instagram) and online forums. But until now, I have successfully avoided getting pulled into them. It’s not that I don’t discuss politics; I prefer to talk about it in person.

One odd thing about me that a lot of my colleagues and friends have noticed is, I prefer rewatching the same shows or movies again and again and again than starting watching new shows. On average, I start one or two new shows each year. I haven’t watched GoT, F.r.i.e.n.d.s, or Breaking Bad (It is in my Netflix watch list), and most probably will never watch the first two shows from the list. My goto shows are Suits, Silicon Valley(I love this show including season 6), Narcos(I watch this so I listen to them talk in Spanish :)), and The one and only “The Office” (US Version). I have rewatched all of them for at least 4–5 times :).

Overall, I am just an Ordinary Guy with ordinary life. I hope I will be able to keep up with my resolutions of writing one article per month.

--

--

neil u malgaonkar

developer by accident , web programmer by choice , loves reading , eating and talking , currently works with @Bombayworks